PDA

View Full Version : First Linotype Melt Lots of Dross

rhouser
04-09-2011, 08:22 PM
I melted down about 35 lbs of Linotype this afternoon and cast it into ingots. I am new to all of this so I have to ask about my melt.

I seem to have ended up with about 5 lbs of dross. Some was spacers that wouldn't melt, but, most was a foamy (?) layer that my skimming ladle picked up easily. When I dropped the on my "trash" board it had alot of structure(kept its height) The dross is Very Hard and the tails are Very Sharp (needle like). I had to use gloves to handle it.

Is this normal? Was I melting at the wrong temprature. I fluxed the melt 3 times trying to get this layer of dross to remix. I finally skimmed it off and cast the shiney metal without incident.

Is a large amount of lumpy or foamy dross normal for a melt of Linotype? From the hardness scratch test I did on an ingot, it might have been monotype. Is there a way to tell linotype from monotype? It took a 3H pencil to "cut a curl" in the ingot.

Thanks in advance for any help
rc

white eagle
04-09-2011, 10:31 PM
I have had the same
did it also smell musty,moldy
I am not sure what that would be but I have had the same issues
with lino
after yo use it from ingot form you won't get it
and if you do it will be minor

midnight
04-09-2011, 11:55 PM
I smelted a 125 lb batch today in a 12 in cast iron dutch oven and had about a one inch thick layer floating on top just as you describe. I sprinkled a very liberal amount of sawdust on it and kept stirring it in. After about 4 or 5 minutes all that was left floating on top was about a 1/2 in thick layer of fine black dust which was skimmed off. After ladeling half the batch into muffin tins I fluxed it again. Sawdust seems to do a fine job of fluxing, especially when melting large batches.

Bob

onondaga
04-10-2011, 01:24 AM
That is not normal for Linotype, your heat may have been much too low for fluxing .