PDA

View Full Version : Welding Cast Iron...

BCB
12-09-2006, 12:01 PM
For all you welders by trade, is it difficult to weld cast iron? Thanks...BCB

MT Gianni
12-09-2006, 12:49 PM
some say it's impossible, others say it can be done but must be in a heat controlled environment ie take the item to be welded to 250*F weld then cool down in steps and you might do it. The problem with cast is there are so many different materiels than say a low carbon steel and they all expand at different rates so you are repairing a crack and causing another at the same time. My dad, a great do-it youselfer, says he welded 150' of cast sewer pipe before someone told him it was impossible and has never been able to do it since. I've never tried since being told it was almost impossible. Gianni.

Phil
12-09-2006, 02:23 PM
I've seen it preheated and brazed but can't recall ever seeing it welded. Not saying it can't be done, especially with all the new welding equipment and techniques available today, just that I can't remember seeing it done.

Cheers,

Phil

JSH
12-09-2006, 02:41 PM
Cast can be arc welded as long as it is not rusted and pitted really bad. The main thing I found was to treat it like you were brazing get everything very clean and don't over heat it.
A salesman came through when I was still working at the local COOP and had some rod that he said could weld about anything. It was not cheap and I had welded pillow block bearings that were cracked to just get by. Same rod I had used on SS with good sucess too. It was not cheap. I think the name brand was X-ergon or some such spelling.
Be warned if you try to braze it that brass will flow into the bores of the cast iron and you never will get it to weld.
If this an exhaust manifold I will say you are SOL to be honest. I have seen welders that new what they were doing weld and braze them up. The biggest bunch of them will crack sooner or later.