PDA

View Full Version : My thought on my Hornady L-N-L

Hunter
12-07-2006, 10:53 PM
I have been reloading since about 1998 on a Hornady Lock and Load single stage (my first press) without any trouble. I did buy a Pro 7 about 5 years ago (from about 1977) that still works well but has began to show her age. I decided to get a new Lock and Load progressive as an upgrade. Though I really have had no trouble from the single stage, since I got into IDPA (and more needed practice) the single stage was really cutting into my free time.
The Lock-N-Load feature on the Hornady presses is really a time savor. Instead of threading the die into the press the die threads into a bushing in the press and once you get the die set like you want it locks it into the bushing (same as if locking it into the press) and with a 1/4 turn the die unlocks from the press (reminds me of the function of the bolt in a bolt action rifle) and removes. So when changing dies, once they are set up it is a matter of unlocking one die and locking in another.
The single stage is fast on depriming and priming as on the upstroke of the ram the case is resized and deprimed as an arm (in the ram) catches a primer from the primer feed tube and the case is primed on the down stroke. The other steps is what lead me to a new progressive.
I received the Progressive last month and have had the chance to get it together and load close to 1000 of .45 ACP with it.
Once it was set up it took a small amount of tweaking to get it up and running (really nothing hard if you follow the manual). It is suggested you clean the press before you begin to remove any packing grease and that is a good idea. Also to clean the insides of the primer tubes help with feeding primers.
The first thing I noticed was the press has 3 grease fittings serving the ram and linkage, pretty foreword thinking of the Hornady engineers if you ask me.