PDA

View Full Version : Confused about leading

pat g
04-04-2011, 10:19 PM
I am new to casting bullets so I have a lot to learn and this is the place that I have found the best location to learn.

Here is the question: I casted 44 mag bullets 200 gr. rnfp.
The bullet size was 431. A 429 sized bullet dropped right through the cylinder.
The bullets were tumble lubed with alox, and sat for 48 hours befor being loaded.

I tested the bullet at about 15 bhn. I loaded 7.8 gr. of Unique. ( Light Load ).
I started low because I am learning and would not like to make a mistake.

The bullets were fired from a Ruger Super Blackhawk.

After shooting about 30 rounds I cleaned the gun and there was very heavy leading. The lead came out in strips.

I believe there is a vast amount of knowledge on this site and Lord knows
I could use some help.

Thanks
Pat

The barrel is 428 and the cylinder is 430.

454PB
04-04-2011, 10:28 PM
Do the .431" boolits drop right through the cylinder?

Have you slugged the bore? Are there any tight spots (barrel restrictions)?

You are using a pretty hard boolit with a very light load. It's possible that a heavier load would produce better results.

pat g
04-04-2011, 11:20 PM
The 431 does not drop through the cylinder.

I have not slugged the barrel.

No barrel restrictions I can see.

Pat

RobS
04-05-2011, 12:13 AM