PDA

View Full Version : Trail Boss 308 project

Tertle
04-04-2011, 05:55 AM
I recently picked up a Sportco Omark .308 with a barrel that had not seen much use but was sadly a little pitted from neglect.

I thought that it would an ideal rifle to learn how to reload with my first set of caste projectiles that i have made from scratch. I’ve been fortunate to have a cast bullet Yoda to help me, one that wears purple long johns, but that’s a another story!

My aim was to make a suppressed .308 with a very low noise signature, for a couple of reasons, to save my hearing, as a bit of a challenge, to plink with and also to see if i could make a humane hunting round.

I spent the last few days tinking with some load development and thought that i should post the results, hopefully they will help someone doing a similar project.
Please be aware i am rather new to this caste loading so please bear with me and my terminology. Also i am lacking in a Chrono and as such cant get too technical with speed or variations, but will happily take any positive comments or criticisms

As to the load, I opted for Trail Boss for the powder, as it had the recommendation of a local gunsmith and it had some characteristics i liked, one being it would be hard to double charge the powder load in a case.

I casted a 200 grain projectile (sorry i am not sure of the exact mold from what it came from) that i sized to 309 310 and 312 and gas checked (home made too with the help of my Caste Boolit Yoda!)