PDA

View Full Version : Why is there no load data for...

TonyM
03-29-2011, 01:31 AM
...the 454 Casull using Varget powder? Does it burn too slow? I've been using Lil Gun with great results, but my dispenser hates that powder.... however, it loves Varget (And I use that in all of my 223 stuff, so I have a ton of it)... I guess I might be chasing a rainbow here, but any info or insight would be greatly appreciated....

Looking at the burn chart, Lil Gun seems quite a bit faster than Varget... but I see other powders closer to Varget that are listed in some 454 Casull loads.... some even slower than Varget.... what gives?....

Piedmont
03-29-2011, 01:59 AM
I don't load the round but think you hit the nail on the head with it just being too slow burning. You could probably load a case full and get low velocities and poor cumbustion.

bobthenailer
03-29-2011, 10:06 AM
I have been loading for the 454 casull for over 14 years and VARGET burn rate is too slow for the casull ! its really a rifle powder .
Although i only tried it AA 1680 is about the slowest powder that can be used in the 454 and still get decent velocity!
The powders i use for the 454 are Tightgroup , HS6 , surplus WW 820 , WW 296 & H110 .
I also used to use LILGUN but have experinced some cyl face and forcing cone erosion on my revolvers useing that powder.

TonyM
03-29-2011, 11:37 AM
.... thats what I figured.. tooo slow...

Thanks for the input guys... I guess I'll start looking at the faster burning extruded powders, since thats what my dispenser seems to like best...

LUCKYDAWG13
03-29-2011, 11:55 AM
my 454 loves H110

wiljen
03-29-2011, 12:26 PM