PDA

View Full Version : What Die set to get ?

tracker
05-29-2005, 01:35 PM
Hi All
Yes, I am new and this question probably has been asked many times but here it goes. I am new to Cast Boolits and I have posted a few times. I am getting a new rifle in 44 Mag and wanted to know what the best die is for this. I have loaded jacketed for years but not cast, and wanted to know if the dies should be different then standard die sets used for jacketed bullets. Any recommendation ? Would the Lee set work ?

Willbird
05-29-2005, 02:51 PM
I bought a set of Hornady 44 magnum New Dimension dies, The sizer works nicely, The de-capper design seems to be a copy of the Lee design, it works well, the plug in the expander is not readily removed to measure or modify it (something you might want to do to suit certian boolits) the seater die looks very nicely made but it's design does not lend itself to use with boolits much larger than 429-430.

I myself prefer carbide sizer dies where I can get them, I do not care for the Lee dies for use in a normal press...the design makes the ctg. case stick on the expander and you have to give the press handle a sharp yank the case off the expander plug.

So that leaves RCBS, Redding, and Hornady...I have not yet tried carbide dies in the first two.

you may want to add an M type die for expanding case necks...it has a .429 section, and a larger one behind that, and then a section to actually bell the neck, some folks like them (I do) some guys hate them.

Bill

StarMetal
05-29-2005, 03:20 PM
Willbird