PDA

View Full Version : Loading for a S&W pre 29

Worn_Holster
03-18-2011, 08:55 PM
Hello Cast Boolits Forum,
I am a newbie here and I'd like to introduce myself. I recently purchased a 1958 S&W pre 29 44 Mag, and since I reload for other calibers that I shoot, and because 44 Mag ammo is so expensive, I want to set up to reload for my new pistol. I've purchased a set of dies, and I'm ready to work up a light load for target shooting, and a medium load for hunting white tail. I know that these old pre 29s are not designed for heavy loads, and a medium load should be more than adequate for hunting out to 75 yards where the terrain I hunt limits my shots. I've decided on a 240 or 250 grain boolit and after doing some reading, I found out that the cylinder throats on older S&W 44's are oversized, and that the boolit that I shoot should not be any smaller than the throat size. I slugged my cylinders and measured them at .432 . So now I want to find a boolit that works well in my revolver, and that is what led me to this forum. I know that I am in need of an oversized boolit, and I'll buy a mould and start casting the boolit that I find that shots accurately from my gun. Since the expertise on casting lies here in this forum, I am here to learn from the best. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks!
Marc

454PB
03-18-2011, 10:11 PM
Yours is not an unusual challenge, many of us own revolvers that need a larger than "standard" boolit. I recommend you buy whatever mould you desire, then determine if it casts big enough. If not, the diameter can be increased by modifying the alloy, "beagling" the mould, or permanently enlarging it by using an abrasive polish. You can find how these things are done by using the search feature of this forum.

Another way to solve the problem is to order a custom mould from one of the several makers available. The cost is two to three times an off-the-shelf mould, but the quality is excellent.