PDA

View Full Version : John Ross Bio, Part 3

John Ross
03-17-2011, 11:02 PM
Big Bore Rifles and an Amazing Handgun

After I’d been shooting my Buhmiller .50-.460 for a month or two, Charley Steen called. He had some surplus incendiary .50 bullets and did I want them? Oh, boy. I about cleaned out my checking account on that one.

In case you are wondering where a junior high school kid got the money to pay for this kind of shooting, I had income from several sources. When my father died, I started receiving his Social Security, as I was a student. It was $80.60 a month, which doesn’t sound like much, but I really didn’t have any other expenses, being a kid and living at home.

Second, I was good at math and got $4 an hour tutoring from parents who were afraid their kids weren’t going to get into college.

Third, I kept my locker at school full of snacks I’d bought at a wholesale food distributor and sold them to other students for about what you’d pay at a store. It was only a few dollars a day, but it added up.

Last of all, I loaded .44 ammo for several other local shooters. I never sold it outright, but always insisted they bring me the brass. My uncle’s buddy at Olin always gave them a good price if they didn’t have any. I charged $9.50 per hundred for Keith loads, either 25 grains of H110 or 9.5 grains Unique, your choice. Primer, bullet, and powder cost about $3.00 per hundred, so I was making $6.50 for less than 15 minutes work (not counting casting time). Years later, I got an ammunition manufacturer’s license, but when I was a minor, I didn’t worry too much about going to prison for some paperwork violation.

Anyway, I had a lot of fun shooting incendiary .50 bullets out of my Buhmiller Enfield, then one day in July of 1972, my uncle showed up at the back door with a cardboard box under his arm and a big grin on his face. He had just returned from a trapshoot in Texas, where he also had an interest in a sporting goods store.