PDA

View Full Version : Garand Brass Question

cabezaverde
03-15-2011, 09:41 AM
Because I love my Garand, I have decided to limit my military 06 brass to 3 reloads with spec ja***ted bullet loads.

Because I am cheap, I am thinking about then relegating that brass to cast only loads in my bolt guns.

Sound plan, or just toss it?

NickSS
03-15-2011, 09:56 AM
Personally I have shot the same brass in my M1 10 or more times per case without a problem as long as I sized them so that I only push the shoulder back about .001" or so. It actually stands up pretty good. I have also shot GI brass in bolt guns more than 40 times without a failure by neck sizing and annealing every three or four reloads and these were with full house loads. As for cast I occasionally split a neck if I do not anneal every so often but it is so seldom that I have been using some brass for 20 years or more. What you propose is very conservative.

cabezaverde
03-15-2011, 11:21 AM
My concern is that a lot of this brass is WW2 vintage.

Larry Gibson
03-15-2011, 12:29 PM
Get an RCBS X-die (regular base as the small base is not needed with the M1) FL sizer and you can get upwards of 20+ regular J bullet firings per case before incipient head seperation sets in and you won't have to trim the cases either.

Larry Gibson

cabezaverde
03-15-2011, 12:50 PM
Larry,

Would you trust this old stuff that much?

frkelly74
03-15-2011, 01:48 PM
I guess I would trust it. I have had two heads separate and the only problem was getting the front part of the brass out of the chamber. I now usually carry a 50 cal bore brush and a tapping rod as a broken shell extractor
shove the brush into the shell and push it out from the muzzle.

I had gotten some brass in a trade that looked really nice but was sized a little short somehow. So the rest I pulled and it is now in its second life as 7mm mauser brass.