PDA

View Full Version : Two Lead Hardness and Melting questions

David LaPell
03-12-2011, 08:24 AM
I am just getting into this wonderful art of smelting and casting bullets so bear with me. My first question is this, I am being given 15 pounds of reclaimed lead, recovered .22 lead bullets, Federal to be exact. What do I have to add and how much to get me to around a BHN of 15-16 for some hard cast .357 bullets?
My second question is, when I start smelting wheelweights, what do I add to that to get to a BHN of 15-16? Does that go by pound as well?

Charlie Two Tracks
03-12-2011, 11:36 PM
Hi David. Your 15 lbs. of .22 bullets will be very soft. If it was me. I would wait and get a little more lead before smelting. That way you can have some ingots of lead that will be same instead of a bunch of lead of different composition. Try a search for smelting. You will find a vast amount of info. Finding out what your throats and barrels diameter is, is very important. I really recommend reading as much as you can from the posts on this site. Try reading the stickies. Lead can vary in BHN. The WW that I get average 12 BHN. This is from a store that caters mostly to large trucks. Another may get 9 or 10. Lyman's Cast book #4 is a great help.
I had to read, read and read some more before I began casting.

badbob454
03-12-2011, 11:43 PM
I am just getting into this wonderful art of smelting and casting bullets so bear with me. My first question is this, I am being given 15 pounds of reclaimed lead, recovered .22 lead bullets, Federal to be exact. What do I have to add and how much to get me to around a BHN of 15-16 for some hard cast .357 bullets?
My second question is, when I start smelting wheelweights, what do I add to that to get to a BHN of 15-16? Does that go by pound as well?