PDA

View Full Version : 50-110WCF project.

Muskwa
11-26-2006, 04:32 PM
Hello Everybody,

I am new to this forum - you guys seem to be a good bunch.
I've got a project on the go, having a 50-110WCF built on a Browning 71. Barrel is here, gun is ready, but I need some advice. Starline makes cases and I have some of them, but a couple of hundred new 348Win cases are also available.

Has anybody formed 50-110 from 348 cases, how many dies are needed?
Recommendations on make of case forming dies ( could you make your own?)?
Anybody got experince with CH reloading dies?

Muskwa

Bent Ramrod
11-26-2006, 06:09 PM
Muskwa,

Welcome to the Forum. I have no experience of the .50-110 myself, but have had a fair number of sets of CH-4D dies. They are a little less polished on the outside than other commercial dies, but the insides are what counts.

In all cases, I have either been very satisfied with the operations done and the surface finishes left on the cases by the CH-4D dies, or, in one case, have called the number (I think the guy's name is Dave), explained the problem, sent in the dies and promptly got it made right.

I don't think the original configuration of these dies was a mistake on their part, either. It's just that these antique chamberings and the replica (or reformed) cartridge cases make the individual loading situation a law unto itself.

These remarks do not apply to the original C-H dies from the '60's (chromed on the outside and supplied in the red and silver cardboard boxes). Allegedly these were as good as anything else until the founder of the company, Charles Heckman, died in a car crash. Then they could be pretty bad. I had a set once in .32-20 which expanded the case off-center and faithfully reproduced the crimp with the second die, also off-center.