PDA

View Full Version : Ww ?

LeeRoy
03-11-2011, 11:58 AM
I am just getting into casting again. I cast a few boolits a # of years ago.

I have read that WW are on the way out. I was give a 1gal can of mixed WW. When I was taking a couple of valve stems out, I saw a couple weights marked Zn, I take it these are Zinc and a no-no in the pot.

The question is what to watch for when melting WW ?

What do the markings stand for, Fe, Zn, P and so forth ?

Thanks for any help.

LeeRoy

WILCO
03-11-2011, 12:45 PM
Read these threads:

How to weed out rejects from your wheel weights:

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?t=45195&highlight=wheel+weight+markings

Wheel Weight Rogue's Gallery (the Good & the Bad but no ugly):

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?t=17681&highlight=wheel+weight+markings

Wheel weight markings???:

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?t=19961&highlight=wheel+weight+markings

x101airborne
03-11-2011, 12:49 PM
I throw everything into a pot and heat it up slowly while using a thermometer to monitor the melt. The Zn, Fe, and Al float to the top, the rubber and such are burned off for flux, and the trash is removed into a bucket. On average my ingots are running around 12 BHN (That is an AVERAGE). Do not allow your melt to go over 700, and you do not have to worry about contaminants.

birdadly
03-11-2011, 12:49 PM
I'm just starting out too and I believe there's Lead, Iron, steel and Zinc WWs perhaps. Someone with more knowledge will have to answer but from reading here I think Lead has the lowest melting temp, so the other WWs just float on top and get skimmed off. Granted, make it easier and just don't put those into the melting pot :)

2 shops I've asked for WWs at say they've already gone to all Steel WWs. They've joined a program called BADA I guess that wants to be green :(

Here's hoping we can find more Lead ones before they go out of style!!!

LeeRoy
03-11-2011, 12:55 PM