PDA

View Full Version : New guy with Alox question

doubledown
03-07-2011, 07:09 PM
I love this Forum, I have been reading for weeks and learned enough to be dangerous. I have been reloading since 1982, but have never cast a single bullet. I have been bit by the bug...bad. I have (in the mail as we speak) a 20 pound Lee pot, a Lee lube and size die in .430 and a two bullet mold from Accurate. I am going to start out with a ladle and work up to a bottom pour when my credit card cools off.

My question is if I use liquid Alox for lube do I need to also use a hard lube for the grease grooves, or is the Alox all I need. I will be loading 320 grain WFN with GC's in my Marlin 1894 .44 mag at about 1250-1350fps.

btroj
03-07-2011, 07:32 PM
Which Alox? There is liquid Alox and 50/50 Alox beeswax. One is a tumble lube the other is a stick that is generally applied with a lubrsizer.

I would prefer a stick lube to go in the grooves although some have good results with the tumble lube. You might search for Rwcluses 45/45/10 lube, seems it gets good reviews.

Which lube to use and how to apply it is an area where there are as many opinions here as there are people. In the end it will be your needs, budget, expectations, and what the gun wants that will make up tour mind on how to proceed.

Brad

doubledown
03-07-2011, 09:04 PM
btroj, I was going to use the Alox from Lee. What I am hoping for is low or no leading, I have no idea what to expect for accuracy with the cast bullets. My 1894 shoots 3"-4" groups at 100 yards off a rest with Hornady 300 grain XTP's. If what I have been reading is correct, bullet lube for cast bullets plays a pretty big part in accuracy.

I will be getting started in a couple of weeks, one thing is for sure, I will have my hands full.

btroj
03-07-2011, 09:19 PM