PDA

View Full Version : A question of economics.

Skipper488
03-07-2011, 01:17 PM
I am a control engineer for a systems integration company and have been thinking for a while now of better ways to weigh and document powder charges. If I developed a scale system that plugged into the USB port of your computer and would record the weight of every charge you weighed straight into a spread sheet for documentation, what would it be worth to you? I'm starting to price components now and I don't know if it's going to be economically feasable or not. I know what I would be willing to pay but I'm a notorious cheap bastard so something that I think is out of line may still be worth pursuing for others of you out there and I need that information to deal with the vendors.

Thanks for your feedback.

Wayne Smith
03-07-2011, 05:41 PM
Sorry, I'm not that OCD! I guess I'm more of a cheap bastard than you 'cause I don't even have an electronic scale!

Skipper488
03-07-2011, 05:47 PM
LOL. I'm a digital kind of guy (must be the controls background) and I've bought a couple of digital scales (less than $40 each), one I found to be completely useless and gave to my wife for checking postage. The other, a Hornady GS-1500, works very well but I don't like the auto off feature on it. The more expensive ones probably work better and I'm sure don't turn off because you took too long looking at that blemish on a case. I'd like to build something that fits the hobbyist in us better but with out breaking the bank. I've seen digital scales for over $300 and to me that's just not worth it but if I could get one to function the way we really want it to would $125 be too much how about $150 or $175. Me I get nervous when the number goes over $99.95 I guess Earl Schieb conditioned me too well.

Finster101
03-07-2011, 05:50 PM
$99.95 sounds pretty reasonable!

Skipper488
03-07-2011, 07:20 PM