PDA

View Full Version : Lee bottom pour furnace question

Dead Dog Jack
03-02-2011, 04:39 PM
I am new to casting and just bought a Lee 20# bottom pour furnace. The instructions that come with it say to leave about an inch of alloy in the pot at the end of each use. So, do I have to drain it down to an inch each time? Or can I leave it somewhat full?

Daddyfixit
03-02-2011, 04:58 PM
First off, Welcolm to the form!
It doesn't matter. I leave mine near full more often then empty. I've had it for a LONG time with no ill effects!

03-02-2011, 05:19 PM
A pot that has leftover lead in it will re-melt it faster than adding ingots to an empty pot. Empty it whenever you change alloys or want to clean it, otherwise leave it partially full/empty.

Just a guess, but Lee's advise may be a non-rusting, pre-emptive measure.

Doby45
03-02-2011, 05:54 PM
I normally top mine off prior to shutting down for the day. I put my sprues back in and even an ingot or two to get the melt topped off and my pot looks great.

onondaga
03-02-2011, 08:12 PM
I have discussed that specific point of the instructions with the Lee Technical Dept.

A full pot left to cool can cause a problem. When reheating a full pot of solid alloy, the alloy expands from heat and can lift the valve causing it to flow during the melt. The metal melts in the pot from the bottom up. A full pot that has started to melt and is fluid on the bottom can have the solid metal in the upper part of the pot expand and lift the valve open.

Leaving one inch in the pot is very useful for 2 reasons. The exposed bare pot can be sprayed with silicone spray per Lee instructions and the silicone will even penetrate under the one inch of alloy and protect the whole pot from rusting. Spraying the whole inner pot with silicone when the pot is cooled is a needed step to prolong the life of your pot and protect it from rusting.

The pot with only 1 inch of alloy will quickly melt for more metal to be added easily.