PDA

View Full Version : Need Encore information

Parson
03-02-2011, 12:51 PM
Just picked up a Prohunter action and thumbhole stock, no barrel. While I have about 35 years experience with Contenders as owner, competitor and gunsmith, I have absalutely zero experience with the Encore. Searched the net last night for some tech info on barrels. I found every opinion you could think of. 70 years old, 35 years as gunsmith now retired, marksmanship competitor and instructer I can usually seperate the fluff from the baloney, but I must confess I am confused about the Encore barrels. Looking at Graffs site for availability I find CVA barrels, CVA Bergara barrels and T/C Encore barrels. I find Heavey barrels, bull barrels, Encore rifle, Bergara and Pro-hunter but no dimensions or taper listed. I thought I might want a 25-06 in the 28" Pro-hunter, several claimed they were pure ****, 5-6 in. groups untill they cut them down to 20-22in. I well know you cannot trust a gun magazine writter to tell you the truth, if the gun company takes out a full page ad they get a good review. Those of you that have them, have had them or at least have some personal experience, whats your thoughts

pistolman44
03-02-2011, 01:12 PM
Can't help you out on rifle barrels but I have 3 pistol barrels. 6mm TCU ss 15" custom shop full bull, 44mag 12", and 17HRM 15" ss Pro Hunter, They all are very accurate. My frame is SS and a trigger job done by Vigin Valley at 1 1/2lb. Next brl. purchase will be a 30-30 or 35 Reminton. I did read that some brls. have long throats. If you reload you can adjust the bullet length depth to just touch the bore.

BABore
03-02-2011, 01:25 PM