PDA

View Full Version : Lead value

*Paladin*
02-28-2011, 08:30 AM
I was reading in here as usual, and I see the general concensus is that lead will continue to rise in value. Anybody ever think maybe the opposite could happen once the WW's are banned? I'm no financial expert, so I could be completely off-mark, but once the WW's are no longer made of lead, it seems there will be a surplus of lead over night. Without a demand on the lead, the price should drop. I am curious what's going to happen when the WW manufacturers are no longer buying lead. They have to be a pretty decent portion of the lead market's buyers, correct?

Is my logic flawed? :confused:

winelover
02-28-2011, 08:47 AM
Probably just add the word VINTAGE to them to warrent the price increase!

Winelover

Trapshooter
02-28-2011, 09:05 AM
My concern is that lead possession will become more regulated. Already, if a business has more than 100 lbs of lead on site, it must periodically report to the EPA and account for every ounce that comes into and goes out of the plant, inventory, how much sold in product, how much recycled/reclaimed, an how much lost. If you can't provide documentation for what you did, you are considered to be a polluter, and the penalties are draconian. The business, the owners and managers are all at risk, and as far as I know, there is no time limit. If you are a small guy, they crush you, if you are a little bigger, they grind you down then crush you. They have the resources of the Gov't at their disposal.

If the EPA decides to expand and attack non-commercial users, lead will have a significant negative value.

Trapshooter

white eagle
02-28-2011, 10:34 AM
there is no way for Uncle Sam to tell me
what I can have on hand
they don't know .....I dont even know....how will they know
I agree with Paladin
there will be a supply of lead somewhere just need to find it .....
let the games begin

Freightman
02-28-2011, 10:38 AM
there is no way for Uncle Sam to tell me