PDA

View Full Version : Ruger Super Blackhawk question

Saint
02-27-2011, 08:41 PM
I just picked up a new in box Ruger Super Blackhawk .44 magnum and I got to the range for the first time today. I was amazed how accurate it was for all of the recoil, also it had an impressive muzzle blast, every shot knocked the spent cases on the concrete floor forward a few inches. Anyway on to the question, I was shooting Winchester white box .44 mag and I noticed that the barrel was heating up really fast, I have little experience with high caliber handguns but with my Hi-Point C9 9mm I can't shoot it fast enough to heat up the barrel so the question is how hot is too hot and how long should it take to get there? In all I spent about an hour at the range and only got 50 rounds through it because I kept having to stop to wait for the barrel to cool down. It got uncomfortably hot but never hot enough that I couldn't wrap my hand around the barrel and leave it there however it would not have been comfortable.

Dale53
02-27-2011, 09:21 PM
I have shot as many as 200 full power reloads in my Super Black Hawk, S&W Model 29, and Redhawk in a day without issue. Yes, they do get a bit warm, but not to worry....

Understand, that is not my "norm" but I have done it. Nearly all of my shooting has been done with my own cast bullets and full or nearly full loads of H110/296 powder.

Dale53

Southern Man
02-27-2011, 09:35 PM
My rule of thumb is , if I can't hold my thumb on the bbl. it's too hot.
50 or 75 rounds per hour should'nt hurt it , as long as you don't do it 8 hours a day 7 days a week.
Southern Man

fecmech
02-27-2011, 09:51 PM
Jacketed ammo will heat barrels quicker I believe due to the friction coefficient of copper vs lead, also some powders such as Hodgdon Lil Gun even with lead. I noticed that this summer with my .357 mag rifle, 10 rds of Lil Gun was noticeably hotter than 10 with wc820.

Saint
02-27-2011, 10:05 PM