PDA

View Full Version : GC in 38/55

rmcc
02-26-2011, 09:05 PM
Hi all,

I thought I would try my hand at casting for my 38/55. Do I need to put gas checks on these/ Plan on using 255 gr WW. I am new to this so if this is an obvious question...

Thanks,
Rich

doubs43
02-26-2011, 09:44 PM
Rich, the design of the boolit will determine if a GC is needed although some people do shoot GC boolits without them. If the mold you plan on using has "GC" somewhere in the name or designation, then it was designed to use a gas check. Or, look at the design and see if the back of the boolit is smaller in diameter than the driving band in front of it. Smaller = GC. Same diameter = plain base and doesn't use a GC.

peerlesscowboy
02-27-2011, 12:18 AM
..........also Rich,
Which design you choose (gas check vs plain base) kind of depends on how fast you plan to drive the bullet.

rmcc
02-27-2011, 12:40 AM
Would plan to duplicate old BP load just for plinking.

doubs43
02-27-2011, 01:01 AM
Would plan to duplicate old BP load just for plinking.

In that case, the velocities wouldn't require a gas check. Black powder cartridges in general used a rather soft lead and they were launched at modest velocities for the most part.

excess650
02-27-2011, 08:53 AM
38-55s generally have pretty slow twists, so are pretty kind to softer boolits. If its an older rifle with deep rifling, it should work pretty well. If it has really shallow rifling, more than likely you'll need a GC for best accuracy.

rmcc
02-27-2011, 10:17 AM
Thanks a ton guys!!

Am new to this game, having a ball, and finding out how little I knew about this subject. Have shot all my life, reloaded since 82'. Missed the boat on casting and shooting a muzzleloader until last year. Have a lot of catching up to do.

Thanks again,
Rich

44 flattop
02-27-2011, 10:32 AM
You are about to form a new addiction..........[smilie=1: :grin:

missionary5155
02-27-2011, 11:00 AM
Greetings