PDA

View Full Version : Marlin 1894SS With Oversize Chamber

Southern Son
02-26-2011, 02:49 AM
I have searched around, but cannot find anything on this. So I am just going to have to ask everyone here.

A couple of years ago I bought a new Marlin 1894 in stainless. I started shooting 44Mag loads in old PMC and new Remington brass and .44Spl loads in cut down PMC Magnum brass. Things appeared to be going OK until I bought some Starline 44Spl brass. Most of this brass was unfired, and what had been fire had only been fired once. I loaded 15grains of 2400 under a 240gr boolit in the Starline Brass, and headed to the range.

On firing, every single case separated. All at the same point, 0.600 from the base of the case.

I thought that maybe the Starline brass might be too hard, so I anealed 50 of them, filled them with the same load and took them too the range and fired them. None of them separated, however, I did notice they looked over expanded. At the point the unanealed cases were separating, the fired anealed cases measure .462-.463, .013 larger than the sized/unfired case. Immeadiately above the extractor groove, the case measures .451, and then then expand to .463 at .600 from the base of the case.

I have since gone back and measured the Remington and PMC brass and it all shows the same expansion.

Is this a normal amount of case expansion in a .44Mag Lever Gun? Is the Starline brass the problem? Why do I always get these problems? An answer to any of those questions would be welcome. Does anyone else out there have the dimentions of some fired brass from a 1894 Marlin .44Mag?

P.S. Sorry for the long post, but I wanted to get all the information included.

MtGun44
02-26-2011, 11:43 AM
I just miked some new Starline .44 mag brass and got .452 about mid case. Then I grabbed
three random fired .44 mag cases and they miked .456, .457 and .457 about mid
length.

Sounds like you have a bit oversized chamber. Maybe you need to send a few cases to