PDA

View Full Version : would pine tar work?

luna butte
02-25-2011, 10:37 PM
as you can tell from the number posts i have made, i am completely new to cast bullets and the thought of bullet lube. though i have been reading quite a bit and looking around the house at what i have available right now.

i came across a can of "Hubbards boot grease" which is a mix of beeswax and pine tar and it got me to thinking if i could use it in a lube recipe. i use pine tar quite a bit at work and i have a bunch of it.

has anyone ever tried it as a lube? if not why not

am i a dork for even considering it.

old turtle
02-25-2011, 11:17 PM
I think pine tar has rosen in it. This could be hard on the barrel. But then again I am not an expert. Most lubes are not that expensive

geargnasher
02-25-2011, 11:34 PM
just use a proven formula, either commercial or from any of the good recipes listed here in the sticky thread.

Beeswax and pine pitch are excellent fluxes for lead alloys, I would use it there, not in the barrel.

Gear

luna butte
02-25-2011, 11:52 PM
i am sure you guys are correct,

but there is a big differance between Pine Tar and Pine Pitch. Pine tar is sold at farm stores, and has several medicinal qualities useful to vets and farriers, it has been a common ingrediant in homemade soaps. it is a liquid at warmer temps and a bit stiffer in the winter. i've used it occasionally instead of "bullgear grease" when out baleing hay without ill effect that i am aware of. course there is a differrance between a 63' freeman baler and a gun barrel.

pitch/rosin seeps from trees and is what bullriders put on their rope to make it sticky and can be hard almost like glass.

fryboy
02-26-2011, 12:29 AM
ummm ...
" Pitch, gum, rosin, amber, pine tar, oleoresin... different names for the same thing. The various forms are all derived from the sticky sap of pines and other trees. Pine tar production is known as colophony."
http://www.worldwideflood.com/ark/pitch/pine_pitch_tests.htm