View Full Version : Which sizer

fishboy747
02-25-2011, 03:36 PM
If you were to choose which lube sizer to get which would you choose. How much
do you use yours and pro's and con's. Thanks

Defcon-One
02-25-2011, 06:46 PM
*1st post here!*

I have just joined this site and am waiting to see the responses here. I am not a beginner. I have been casting on and off for 30+ years, however, I am just recently getting back into it after a long break. (Many years, due to family, work, etc. taking up all of my time!)

My recent research indicates that the Magma Star Sizer is the way to go. It has pass thru sizing, which means that you only handle the bullet once, straight thru the die and into a container, and the lube pump design gets lube into the grooves without any issue of lubing bullet noses or bevel bases. (I love bevel based bullets, so this really matters to me.) These units appear to give you much better control of where the lube goes and when. Other units seem to leave it under pressure without a valve to meter it. The bullet/die plunger act as the valve and a beveled base will always get lubed in that design.

I think that sizing nose first is better since it replicates the way a bullet will be running through the barrel, nose first. Why not size the same direction? Also, there is no need to buy a top punch for every different caliber and nose shape. A couple will do and they are flat on the bottom to keep the bullets square in the die.

No_1
02-25-2011, 06:52 PM
I have to agree with the previous poster. No need to get a top punch which matches the bullet profile is a super bonus. I have 5 top punches and they handle the whole range of bullets I lube.

lathesmith
02-25-2011, 06:56 PM
A simple rule of thumb: if you are feeding a progressive or even a Lee turret loader, the Star and up is the best and most cost effective. If you just load a few rounds a year with a single stage setup you would probably be happy with a lower cost Lee or Lyman or RCBS setup.