PDA

View Full Version : Question about molds

MikeACP
02-21-2011, 09:18 PM
I don't want to start a fight here among people. I'm new to all of this, Iv'e noticed Lyman bullet molds cost more than twice what Lee ones do. Are they that much better?

Doby45
02-21-2011, 09:32 PM
Not as of late.

mold maker
02-21-2011, 09:33 PM
Lyman has had some issues lately, but so has LEE. Lyman molds are made of iron and will withstand somewhat more abuse, but will RUST. Lee molds are made of Aluminum, as are several of the other major mfg.
Aluminum molds are softer and can be easily damaged if resonable care isn't used.
I have many of each, and although each material has it's own characteristics, you can easily cast high quality boolits from both.
I especially like the 4-6 cav aluminum molds because of the light weight and fast production.

Kraschenbirn
02-21-2011, 09:37 PM
At one time, I would've said "Yes, Lyman moulds are significantly better." but not, perhaps, today. Even though I haven't purchased any new Lyman moulds recently, I've read (and heard, first hand) too many complaints about Lyman quality control and customer service in the last year or so. Lee, too, appears to have had some recent quality problems but I've always found Lee customer service to be first rate. Perhaps, too, I have somewhat lower expectations of Lee moulds due to their low price but I've never had a "defective" Lee product that they didn't make good on, either.

On the other hand, if you come across any of the old pre-Lyman "Ideal" moulds in decent condition (at a reasonable price, of course) and in a caliber/design you can use...grab 'em and run!! The old Ohaus moulds (from before they dropped their line of casting equipment) are also outstanding and, usually, can be had for a lot less money than Ideals or early Lymans. (All three Ohaus moulds that I have cast slightly undersize...like, maybe, .001-.002...but a bit of beagling fixed that quickly enough.)

Bill

btroj
02-21-2011, 10:09 PM