PDA

View Full Version : Cimmeron .45colt demensions

waco
02-19-2011, 05:43 PM
i just ordered an "Evil Roy" .45 colt, with a 4.75" barrel.
i am making orders for molds, dies, sizer die, ect.
I am new to the .45 colt. i know that some older .45s are.452, and some .454
being this is a new gun, made on CNC equipment, can i assume this will be a .454 gun?
also, is anyone familiar with the cylinder dimensions of this gun? meaning, will some molds have the crimp groove as to were the loaded round would be too long and stick out the end of the cylinder?(i have this problem with 358429 in my taurus tracker)
I just dont want to buy a mold just to find out i cant use the crimp groove:(
hopefully someone out there is familiar with this gun and can give me some tips!
thanks again fellas!
Waco:castmine:

littlejack
02-20-2011, 01:55 AM
waco:
The pre-war 45 Colts were .454 diameter. The post-war bores are "generally" .452. My
Cimarron Evil Roy slugs at .452. When I run my boolits through my sizer die, they usually mic
at .4525. I miced my throats as best I could with my dial caliper, and they miced about
.4525-.453.
One thing I did do, was to open up the bore just ahead forcing cone, "where the barrel is
screwed into the frame" I slugged that portion of the barrel, and it miced out at .451. The
accuracy did improve after I opened it up to .4525.
As far as the boolit lengths, some ARE too long.
The 270 grain swc and heavier are too long for the Colt, and Colt clone saa cylinder lengths.
You will need to stay with the 250, 255, or 260 grain boolits depending on the profiles.
Of course anything lighter will work.
Maximum COAL for the 454190 boolit is supposed to be 1.600, and that leaves nose of
the boolit looking good from the end of the cylinder.
Some of the other designs will be a little longer, but the length will still be satisfactory.
The Lyman 454190 is the old original bp boolit, and was designed to be used in the saa and
the lever action rifles.