PDA

View Full Version : 38 WCF boolit Molds

Marvin S
02-11-2011, 09:13 PM
Got a Win 92 on the way and will be needing a mold for it. I have been looking at the Lyman 401043 and the RCBS 40-180 cowboy types. The Lyman does not seem the have a crimp groove but instead has two grease grooves while the RCBS has one grease groove and a crimp groove.

What are your guys thoughts about these two molds, good bad or other wise. These will be shot through a original Mod 92 MFG 1913.

StrawHat
02-12-2011, 07:36 AM
I do not own or shoot the 38 WCF cartrdige so I have no personal experience with it. The Lyman lacks a crimp groove because it was intended to be loaded on top of a full case of black powder. The powder would keep the bullet from shifting back into the case and neck tension kept it from shifting forward.

With smokeless powder occupying less room, you can crimp on the portion of the bullet in front of the grease groove.

Good luck with the Win 92, I wish I still had mine.

Marvin S
02-12-2011, 11:07 AM
Thanks, I really never thought of it that way but it makes sense. I'm leaning towards the RCBS now. I know the Lyman is a copy of the original Winchester mold but it makes you wonder how they overcome the crimp issue when smokeless powder started being loaded. Maybe the crimp at the bottom of the boolit was the trick.

9.3X62AL
02-12-2011, 02:19 PM
Probably so, Marvin. No experience with the 38-40, but lots with the 44-40, its slightly larger cousin-in-law.

From reading here and elsewhere, the 38-40s tend to run a little wider than on-spec .400"-.401" grooves. You might want to wait until you have the firearm in hand--and been able to slug its throat and grooves before getting your mould(s).

A LOT of the hyphenated Winchester caliber rifles and revolvers run wide. This wasn't such an issue with blackpowder loads and binary-metal boolits. These combinations "bumped up" more readily than do modern 3-metal alloys and smokeless powders. That's my theory, anyway.