PDA

View Full Version : uberti cattleman & Black Powder

drumgool
02-11-2011, 08:58 AM
I have been thinking of getting a ubertie cattleman revolver in 45 colt . I am just getting started in loading black powder in my 38-55 and would like to shoot black powder in this revolver. I am looking for advice from you guys that shoot black powder in your revolvers . What issues have you had if any . I read some where that some people have a lot of trouble with black powder in 45 colts . some have no problem at all. just like to know *** & cons before I make a purchase and be dissapointed

Dan Cash
02-11-2011, 10:52 AM
How well black will work in this revolver depends upon how the cylinder is made. If the cylinder has a bushing for the axis pin that ends forward of the back of the barrel and has a good gas ring cut in it, the revolver will likely do well with black. If it does not have this bushing/gas ring relationship, then black powder will freeze the cylinder within a dozen shots or so.

41magfan
02-11-2011, 11:01 AM
The 45 colt and blackpowder just seem to go together. As I'm sure you've already found it is dirty and you won't make any friends if you shoot at a indoor range. Been there done that. Lol. If you have the time search youtube for HICKOK 45 in some of his videos he shoots some blackpowder guns and he's from your neck of the woods(middle tennessee)

Wayne Smith
02-11-2011, 12:57 PM
I have two Cattlemen in 44-40 that I shoot almost exclusively with the Holy Black. I can shoot about 30 rounds before the revolver clogs, and all you have to do at that point is pull the cylinder pin, clean the pin and cylinder, lubricate, re-assemble, and go on shooting.

I wouldn't let anything keep me from shooting Black in mine and predict you will have just as much fun with yours.

Gripmaker
02-11-2011, 05:57 PM