PDA

View Full Version : lands engraving bullet?

Texxut
02-10-2011, 10:17 PM
I'm new to cast bullets in rifles.
I'm trying to set up for a loading of 3006, useing a cast bullet (WW), from an RCBS 30-180-SP gas checked mold. (This mold drops a 192 grn bullet) My problem is, when I seat the bullet so the GC is at the base of the neck, not below it, the top band engages the lands of the rifling. It is my understanding the GC should be in the neck. But the bullet should not be engaged in the riflings. Is this safe to have the bullet engaged in the lands? I always thought that was not a good idea.
If the GC can't be below the base of the neck, how are you guys shooting anything heavier than 115 grns with a GC on it?

Ben
02-10-2011, 10:34 PM
Who said a g/c can't be below the neck ?

That particular bullet design looks like it is going to force you to deep seat it , in order to close the bolt. You might want to try an alternate design.

lonewelder
02-10-2011, 10:40 PM
Light engraving is ok,so long as the action is not hard to close.

Texxut
02-10-2011, 11:09 PM
Ben,
Unless I misunderstood what they mean, ( I'm new to cast bullets in rifles.) Lyman reloading handbook ed 49, Pg 84;

"CAUTION: old style press-on gas checks should not be used when bullet bases go below the neck. This will avoid having a loose gas check fall into the powder charge. Accuracy, with any style cast bullet, will always be best if bullet bases are completely contained within the neck of the case."

I'm using Hornady GC applied with an RCBS LAMII lubersizer. Are these what they are talking about. Or am I good to go by deep seating these GC'ed bullets?.

Ben
02-10-2011, 11:18 PM
I've read that before also. There could be some truth to that if you were using the old style Lyman g/c's that were not of the modern " crimp on " design. If you are using Gator checks or Hornady crimp on g/cs & you can't pull them off with your finger nails, you have nothing to worry about.

Seat them and shoot them.

Ben