PDA

View Full Version : Should I Be Seperating WW's??

Lizard333
02-06-2011, 02:16 PM
I was wondering if I should be melting the tape weights separate from the 'Normal" WW's. I noticed that the the tape weights apear to be a lot softer lead but don't know if it is only because they are much thinner. If I am to separate them when I melt them into ingots, what would be the purpose and what could I use the softer lead for. I am new to this and any help at all would be helpful. Thanks!!:D

bumpo628
02-06-2011, 02:28 PM
You should melt them into ingots separately, but when it's time to cast you can mix them back together. The point of separate smelting is to know what you're putting in the pot. Stick-on WW's are nearly pure lead. Clip-on WW have about 0.5% Tin and about 2% Antimony.

I use a spreadsheet to calculate the final properties of the lead for casting. You want to keep the tin around 0.4% to 0.5% and the antimony at least 1%. Depending on how you mix it, you might need to add extra tin or antimony. Solder is a good source of tin (50/50 or 60/40) and shotgun shot has antimony (5% magnum, 2% chilled).

fredj338
02-06-2011, 03:32 PM
You could throw it all in opne pot, treat it as range scrap, about 8-9BHN depending on the ratios. Most guys, me too, separate so we know what we have. Pure lead can be used to soften ww or lino alloy, for muzzle loader projectiles or making LHP. I use 25-1 lead/tin mix or 50/50 lead/clip ww for LHP.

Taylor
02-06-2011, 10:16 PM
I save the tape on's for muzzle loader.

*Paladin*
02-06-2011, 10:35 PM
I seperate them. The SO's are WAY softer than clip-on WW's.

southpaw
02-06-2011, 11:28 PM