PDA

View Full Version : Range Brass At A Glock GSSF Match

GBertolet
02-04-2011, 04:34 PM
I was a range officer at a Glock match. At the end of the match, after we put the props away, I picked up a small bucket of brass from my stage. Here's a case that was in it. It is a 9mm fired in a 40 cal gun. The extractor must of held it against the breech face so it could fire. Not perfectly aligned, as the hit is off center. Not a big deal, but I thought it was neat. I bet the bullet rattled down the barrel, and it was likely a miss by the shooter.

SciFiJim
02-05-2011, 01:14 AM
:shock: Does someone not know what caliber pistol they have?
I guess if it is round and goes bang, they think it is all good.

*Paladin*
02-05-2011, 01:26 AM
Buddy of mine did that one time at a gun shop in Vegas. He rented a Taurus (what he believed was a PT-92). He put a full mag of 9mm through it before I noticed the goofy brass on the floor. Sure enough, it was a Taurus PT-101 (.40 SW). The guy behind the counter that rented him the gun also sold him the box of ammo. Obviously, my buddy should have double checked the model, but both of us assumed the box of ammo was the correct cartridge for the gun he rented. Moral of the story? Don't ever assume anything, because we all know what happens when you assume...

eljefe
02-06-2011, 09:30 AM
I manage an indoor pistol range, and see this more
often than I would like.

Last week, I had a guy shoot a 40 round through a 45,
with ill effect. The case blew out the brass, split it
lengthwise. That was the 1st one...the 2nd one
stayed in the chamber and had to be poked out
with a cleaning rod.

The problem usually occurs when two caliber pistols
are on the bench at the same time. Fortunately,
there is normally just a bruised ego, and nothing
more serious, that results.

Jim
02-06-2011, 09:57 AM