PDA

View Full Version : Lead bullets and the M1 Carbine

Roundnoser
02-03-2011, 08:34 PM
I'll bet this question has been asked before, but I couldn't readily find in on a seach. Wondering if I can lean on the experience of the M1Carbine folks out there...

I have a baby Garand (Circa 1940's Inland Div.). I have everything to reload for it including a Lee mold (120 gr w/ GC). I have been told, and have read that using cast bullets in gas operated semi's can be problematic. Specifically, I understand that lead from the bullet can shave off at the gas port/return and eventully clog it up. Some folks have recommended sticking with FMJs to reload.

What is your advice on this issue. I have very little experience with the carbine (except for shooting it!), so for my sake keep it simple!

Echo
02-03-2011, 08:37 PM
Cast 'em & shoot 'em. That is the boolit I use in my Carbine, and I have zip zero nada leading or gas cylinder issues. The advice you are referring to comes from rationalization, not empiricism. IMHO

NickSS
02-04-2011, 06:48 AM
I have shot many thousands of cast lead bullets in M1 carbines over the years and never had a problem with leading of any sort. I in fact use the same bullet in mine now with excellent results.

oldhickory
02-04-2011, 09:35 AM
I have several molds for .30 carbine,including the LEE 120gr. and have shot many many more cast than jacketed out of my Underwood without a single hitch or leading problem. I mostly use the Lyman 311410 130gr. rn though, simply because it'sa p-b boolit and I don't have to mess with gas checks. Generally, somewhere around 11.5-13gr. of IMR4227 works well.

DevilDog83
02-04-2011, 09:40 AM
Been using the same boolit in my girlfriend's carbine and they are accurate and no leading, good luck and have fun.

zomby woof
02-04-2011, 04:51 PM