PDA

View Full Version : From wheel weights to ingot??

oneone
01-28-2011, 11:55 AM
Hi all, I'm new here. I did some searching, but you could imagine the number of pages I found in regards to wheel weights. I'm new to casting, and I have great access to free WW. What I'm wondering is if anyone knows of a page that explains the process of going from WW to ingot. I have a Lee bottom pour melter, but I'm only assuming that I wouldn't use that to "refine" my lead.

Sorry for such a newb question, but we all start somewhere right? :oops:

imashooter2
01-28-2011, 12:37 PM
Welcome aboard! This page covers the basics pretty well:

http://goatlipstips.cas-town.com/smelting.html

oneone
01-28-2011, 12:51 PM
Perfect. Much appreciated. Now I begin. :)

imashooter2
01-28-2011, 01:17 PM
Safety tips:

1) Water and melted lead don't mix. Get water under the lead surface and you will suffer a steam explosion and have melted lead everywhere, including on you.

2) Do not melt lead in an aluminum pot. Aluminum weakens considerably at lead melting temperatures and can fail without warning. Standing in a puddle of molten metal is generally regarded as a bad thing.

3) Cooking pot handles are not designed for the weight of lead. They will crack, break, come off if you try to lift the pot by them. See above regards standing in molten metal.

3) Cotton or wool clothes. (Synthetics melt to you if covered by molten lead.) Long pants, long sleeves, leather shoes/boots with the tops covered by your pant legs. Heavy gloves. SAFETY GLASSES!

Springfield
01-28-2011, 02:45 PM
I always wear a ballcap also. I have had lead splatters fall down inside my glasses and burn my cheek. With the ball cap that all ended. Keeps the hot lead outa my hair, also. It is not if, but when, that hidden drop of water will cover you with tinsel. Here is my set-up part way through a big batch. It helps if you can get it all off the ground too, saves your back.

Rooster
01-28-2011, 07:59 PM