PDA

View Full Version : Pre and Post 64 Model 94's

inthebeech
01-26-2011, 08:22 PM
So what is the difference? I am wondering why the hype. It is not as if we're talking about the Model 70 where there are genuine and significant design differences, so other than the interminable decrease in overall fit and finish and care and precision of parts, which exists in many firearm models of many manufacturers, is ther more to it? You can talk technical if that's where the answer lies, I am an engineer and shouldn't get lost.
I'd like some data so that I can decide for myself if I think a 1963 gun is worth twice the price as a 1964 gun. It is my decision. I just want to make it intelligently and I know the folks here will give me ther real skinny.
Thanks,
Ed

stubshaft
01-26-2011, 09:20 PM
I never realized that pre or post '64 pertained to any other Winchester than the Mdl. '70.

peerlesscowboy
01-26-2011, 09:20 PM
If you have the opportunity to make a side by side comparison you'll easily tell the difference.

01-26-2011, 09:56 PM
Yes, the side by side inspection is the way to do it. Yes, most all Wins changed in 64. Some also swear that post-war (WW2), not 1964, was the first major decline in quality. At a distance they're all a little hard to tell apart. But close inspection with tell. Also, I think some of the major parts were beginning to be investment cast during that 64 change. Now it's a very common if not the standard practice of cast then mill for many if not most manufacturers. Prior to about that time major parts of many guns were cut from forged or billet steel then milled. Stamped vs milled vs cast small parts is a different story.

blaser.306
01-26-2011, 10:14 PM
Post 64's have a receiver that would not take blueing properly and cannot be re-blued ! They take on a "mottled apperance ! I just bought one that had 10 rounds thru it for $300.00 delivered in Nov . The rest of the gun looks like new but the receiver has a "distinct look to it !

Jon K