PDA

View Full Version : New Guy, and opinions wanted...

mommicked
11-02-2006, 03:01 PM
Hey, y'all. My name is Mitch and I live near the Southern NC Outer Banks, and proud to be native to the area. I'm an electrician, hunter, target shooter. I'm a less than perfect Christian husband and father of two lil wild Indians.:-D

I'm fairly new to casting, and am head over heels in love with paper patching for the 45-70 Marlin (I hang out some at Marlin Owners). I have been casting my own using Lee molds(.452 300gr LC, .457 340gr, .457405gr). I got about 1500 lbs of construction sheet lead from a demolition job a year ago, and that sealed my fate, I had to start casting.

I'm looking to buy a custom mold to make the perfect mold for .45-70, to shoot in my Marlin 1895. I want a good hunting bullet for deer and black bear. I'm looking to the 325-350 grain weight range for tradjectory. I'm unsure of the alloy I'll settle on, but prolly WW or softer. I want a bullet that opens and expands, not just punches a hole through.

I'm thinking of a .452/350 grain hollow base (to tuck the tails in) or a GC that could be used (eventually) in a .45LC should I wind up with one. I think the bullet should have grease grooves (yeah, even for a patched bullet). I've thought this "magic bullet" over forwards and backwards, and the more I think about it the more confused I get. Does anyone here do bullet design therapy?

Mitch

Bass Ackward
11-02-2006, 04:43 PM
I'm a less than perfect Christian husband and father of two lil wild Indians.:-D

I'm fairly new to casting, and am head over heels in love with paper patching for the 45-70 Marlin

Mitch,

Less than perfect huh? Well, maybe you will fit in. :grin:

Anyway, you know how you hear that theory about how people select dogs based upon how they look like them, well I have the same theory about bullets.