PDA

View Full Version : Need help with Encore and WLR primers

strangwn
01-13-2011, 03:10 PM
I recently loaded some .22-250 cartridges for shooting in a Thompson/Center Encore, but several of the primers would not fire on the first attempt. The loads are 55 gr Vmax, 36 gr Varget, Winchester Large Rifle(WLR) primers, 1X brass. The primers and powder are newly purchased. The primers that have had trouble firing may be seated very slightly deeper than the primers that are firing, but the difference is only very slight. I will try to do some measuring and report here. The firing pin appears to be striking the primers adequately. The rifle has been shot with only factory ammo in the past without any problems. I normally use only CCI primers and have never had failed ignitions even if primers were seated well below flush, but this is my first time at loading .22-250 and first time with an Encore. Has anyone had these kinds of problems with the Encore and/or WLR primers?

BABore
01-13-2011, 03:28 PM
Handloading for the Encore (or any hinged action single shot) is a bit different than your normal bolt action reloading habits. Your best bet is to go to Mike Bellm's website and do some reading. Here's is a link to possibily some of your issue.

http://www.bellmtcs.com/store/index.php?cid=172

I have no association with Bellm other than being a customer. A happy one at that. I made my own headspacing gauge rather than buy his. I ran into accuracy issue with my 338 WM when I first got a high end custom bbl. Following the directions on this site led me to outstanding accuracy. If you want some further info, send me a PM and I can walk you through it. I can give you my phone # so we can chat about it faster than me typing it all out.

rhbrink
01-13-2011, 05:32 PM