PDA

View Full Version : new lee molds, best way to lubricate sprue bushing?

sh00ter787
01-13-2011, 12:04 PM
just got my first set of molds and hope to start churning out some boolits this weekend :)

in the instructions it says about desgreasing the molds then heating them up and lubricating the sprue bushing with bullet lube. I dont have any bullet lube to hand (and only alox on its way - hey im a REAL beginner!).

What would you guys suggest as a lubricant for the sprue, or is it even felt necessary?

Regards

theperfessor
01-13-2011, 01:10 PM
Don't follow Lee's advice to use bullet lube or you'll end up with a baked on mess! I recommend BullPlate sprue lube, you can get it from the Bullshop, one of the site's sponsors. It's the best. Until then try a little high temp anti-sieze or some two stroke engine oil.

BullPlate lube is great stuff, a little goes a long way.

mooman76
01-13-2011, 09:28 PM
What theproffesor said and light on the lube. You don't want to get it in the cavities. I use a Qtip to apply.

geargnasher
01-14-2011, 12:00 AM
Bullplate is good, but for aluminum moulds I much prefer Sprayway #945 or #936 dimethylpolysiloxane spray lubricants, wet a Q-tip with it and apply very sparingly to the bottom of the sprue plate, around the hinge screw, the alignment wedges and alignment pins. Keep it out of the cavities or it will prevent good fillout just like oils or greases will. Reapply after mould is up to casting temp, and every 20 or so pours for the first session to get it to soak into the pores of the metal. You shouldn't need to apply it but once a session at the most from then on.

Gear

zxcvbob
01-14-2011, 12:06 AM
I use high-temperature grease (lately, a really sticky lithium-based boat trailer and marine grease.) Just a tiny bit on a Q-tip.

onondaga
01-14-2011, 12:09 AM