PDA

View Full Version : Lee pouring method

Shulse
01-07-2011, 03:09 PM
Hi Boolit casters,
I'm new to casting, just bought all kinds of goodies and getting ready to give it all a try. I have two Lee moulds, a 358-105 and a 309-113. Both two holers. Every magazine and casting manual I have read, until now says hold the mould sideways, stick the ladle spout against it and turn them to fill. I also just got the Lee reloading book and it says "Do not pour like that with Lee moulds and don't use a spout type ladle". It says to get a Lee open spoon type ladle. I have a lyman spout type ladle and I aint waitin' for another Midway order so that's what I'm gonna use. So I'm wondering what method of pouring you fellow lowely Lee mould users use when you pour. Do you hold it horizontal and pour it in or break the rules and use the Lyman method.
One other question: Do you smoke your mould, use spray Drop Out" or favor the Leement method.
I've been lurking on this site for quite a while. It's a lot of fun when doing shift work. Thanks in advance for your comments

Steve

44man
01-07-2011, 03:21 PM
Lee wants to sell their ladle! [smilie=l:
I use Lyman ladles and hold them tight to the plate as I turn the mold up, then hold together long enough to let the boolit take as much lead as it needs from the ladle, NOT the sprue.
Lee molds work perfect with a Lyman ladle. So does every other mold.
I have no idea what Lee is talking about! :holysheep That has to be the most goofy thing I ever heard.
I just dumped a 20# pot without a single reject from two molds running together. I do not believe in any rejects at all, not even the first boolit.
I love the Lyman ladle!

Nightfisher
01-07-2011, 03:55 PM