PDA

View Full Version : 30-06 RCBS 180 gr FN

Ickisrulz
12-31-2010, 01:34 PM
I'm trying my first attempt at casting for rifle.

I have a Sako 75 in .30-06. It has a 1-11 twist. I'm using a RCBS 180 FN bullet with a gas check. With the gas check installed it weights 200.5 grains. I lubed these with Lee liquid Alox and sized them to .311.

I plan on starting with 28 grains of 4895 with .5 grains of dacron filler. Am I on the right track here?

It looks like the gas check will be below the neck when I seat these things. Is this OK?

Thanks.

Blammer
12-31-2010, 01:46 PM
I have no experience with filler, but I don't use any. Sorry no help there.

.311 is a good size to try.

Alox is not my preference for cast and rifle combo, if it leads, I'd change the lube first.

Having the GC below the neck is fine, shouldn't hurt anything. I shoot my 311284 and the GC is below the neck and I get good accuracy.

28gr of your powder is a good place to start.

so yea, basically you've got a good start.

Smoke-um if you got-um
12-31-2010, 06:59 PM