PDA

View Full Version : Swede 6.5 questions

Daryl
12-30-2010, 08:28 PM
Ok,

I'm going to take a stab at this. I've gone back 50 pages on this forum (to 2007 I think) and read and re-read all of the posts with a heading that appeared to be about the Swede.

I think I get the gist - there appears little debate that 1,600 FPS or so and under is no problem to get great accuracy with lead bullets of varying molds and sizes.

The controversy seems to be when it is desired to push this critter to J velocities of, say, 2,200 +. And, in that controversy, it appears to be the 7.5 twist that most point out as the limiting factor.

Here's what I've got. A 1916 that appears to have been sporterized. Barrel measures about 17.5" so I assume this to be a carbine but I can't rule out a modified barrel because I'm no expert. I removed copper fouling with a week-long regimen of daily cleaning. I fire-lapped with 40 rounds and Veral Smith's LBT lapping compound. I have a 175 grain Lee Cruise Missel mold and one I milled down to the first lube groove to come in at 145 grains. The barrel slugs at .266 to .2665 as best I can tell. I've sized and gas checked the bullets to .269 and used LBT Commercial Lube.

I have new Winchester brass primed with Winchester Large Rifle primers.

Now I'm ready to load and test. It seems that 2400 - Unique - Trail Boss and some others have been tested and work well in the 1,600 & under range.

Now, can anyone provides some loads and velocities and any other tips to get respectable hunting performance in the 2,000+ FPS range

Please also note if there is a specific mold or bullet that really made a difference for you.

Jim
12-30-2010, 09:11 PM
Look up Larry Gibson.

PAT303
12-30-2010, 09:31 PM