PDA

View Full Version : redhawk 44mag load ideas

jlmomaha
12-22-2010, 05:27 PM
I just bought a ruger redhawk 4" i have shot some 240gr magtech factory loads..

well I am going to be reloading for this gun, I have alot of bluedot laying around, my dilemma is what mold to get I would like to stick with Lee, I have been looking hard at the 310gr..

I want to have a plinking round, but also protection in the woods from bears, I was thinking a light powder load 310 for plinking and heavy 310 powder load for bear..

please give me Ideas on mold selection and load data, I will probably pan lube and TL each boolit.. I do not want to GC the boolits, so my other question is must I GC a GC boolit design?

Thanks for all your help I am new to revolvers and 44 mags, and need all the guidance I can get..

Thank you

jlmomaha
12-22-2010, 11:29 PM
any one have any input?

GP100man
12-22-2010, 11:36 PM
Nope I shoot the 310 lee with 17gr IMR 4227 under it lit with a std/mag WW LP primer

Burns clean & does a nice job out of a Redhawk 7 1/2" barrel.

Heavy lead
12-22-2010, 11:37 PM
I use the Lee mold and like it, I don't, however use it for plinking, but suppose without a check, tumble lubed you could get by with about 8.5 grains of Unique, should get you about 850-900 fps or so.
Where that boolit shines though is pushed full bore with a gas check. In my 5.5" Redhawk (and a couple other guns as well) 18.7 grains of 'Lil Gun over a CCI 350 is a good load for me. 296, H110 would be others.
My plinking load (although it chrono's about 1100 fps out of the Redhawk) is Mihec's 503 clone (a Keith style 250 grain swc) over 10 grains of Unique and a Federal 150 primer.
I don't tumble lube anything, I use BAC on most everything.
The Lee boolit may not be stable unless you push it hard, it may be fine to 25 yards, and maybe even 50, but may start tipping after that, but that may be fine for what you want to do.
Hope this helps.

GP100man
12-22-2010, 11:40 PM