PDA

View Full Version : Long range bullet for Marlin 1895

seppos
12-17-2010, 10:59 AM
I have 1895 GG.
I made a little challange to some .308 boys with j-word bullets about long range shooting..:)
There is some pritty good .45 boolit models for the 45-70, but Marlin design si not suitable for them.
Does anybody have any suggestion for the Long range bullet, or should it be designed..

It needs to be accurate, remain its stability to + 1000 yards and have relatively good BC..

Bar is open..:-D

S

btroj
12-17-2010, 11:11 AM
That bullet is not going to be a good fit with the Marlin 1895. You are looking for bullets like the black powder cartridge silhouette shooters use. They frequently run over 500 grains and will lead to an overall length way beyond what the Marlin will allow. Deep seating the bullet to allow it to cycle thru the action will eat up lots of powder space.
I am no expert on long range big bore shooting but would suggest you go to the black powder cartridge forum and ask there about your needs. They are they guys with the experience in this area.
Good luck in you quest but I don't think you have the right gun for this challenge.

starnbar
12-17-2010, 11:25 AM
That nosler 300 gr ppt works pretty good you can seat heavier lead bullets out if you manually load them in the chamber which i do in my winchester they won't feed through the magazine. it might work or maybe not depends on what you want to do.

HORNET
12-17-2010, 12:43 PM
Does it HAVE to feed through the action or could you single-load them? There are lots more options single-loading and better BC's if you don't have to use the magazine. 405's CAN be used, but heavier might be better. Watch the nose fit on the rifling, I understand the bores tend to run big on those barrels.

white eagle
12-17-2010, 12:52 PM
I do believe there are better platforms for 1000 yd shooting
most of the long range rifle I see are bolt action
I don't ever think I have seen a lever action long range rig

Doc Highwall