PDA

View Full Version : Another BP question

mattbowen
12-17-2010, 07:44 AM
First off; "Hello to all";
The question that I have is I want to load the black and may pick some up this Sat. but don't have a drop tube or a compression die as yet (I do plan to get them when I get a little extra) but for now is it feasible to take a wooden dow to compress the powder into the case?

Matt

67bear
12-17-2010, 10:38 AM
Hi Matt,
I made a drop tube out of a 2 foot piece of 3/8" copper tubing from the hardware store with both ends flared. I've been using it for ten years. It was cheap and it works fine. Just pour your powder real slow through it. I don't have any experience making a compression die, so can't help you with that. But if you use Swiss BP, you may not need to compress it. My current 45-70 load is compressed .005" when I seat the bullet.

mattbowen
12-17-2010, 11:30 AM
67bear;

Thanks for the reply, I will have to try that with the copper tube. The only powder that I found locally is Pyrodex and black horn, so I will try the black horn.

Thanks again

Matt

Don McDowell
12-17-2010, 02:40 PM
WHY? would anybody want to mess with that blackhorn **** at 40$ a pound:groner:Good lord you can order 1 lb of black at a time from Grafs for less than that.

You can just use your funnel and a slow pour and achieve about as much good as a drop tube when charging 45-70 cases.

John Boy
12-17-2010, 04:42 PM
Matt, I find the drop tube to be a PITA. I vibrate my powder to settle it. And not with the kind of vibratory one finds in their wife's dresser drawer [smilie=1:
Why? Because vibrating the powder is darn near the same as settling it with a drop tube. There was an article on the subject in an old Black Powder Cartridge News magazine. The difference is a very small fraction of a 1/10 of an inch

OK, my vibrators are a hand massager that I found on the Internet and an old Sonic Care tooth brush. Both have high and low speeds. I use the low speed

SharpsShooter
12-17-2010, 05:32 PM