Reloading EverythingInline FabricationRepackboxRotoMetals2
Snyders JerkyMidSouth Shooters SupplyWidenersTitan Reloading
Load Data Lee Precision
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New and just don't know

New and just don't know

I am new to casting and have melted down some lead just to clean it before I do anything else and I used paraffin wax for flux and when I put the wax in it started smoking and then burst into flames. My question is "What am I doing wrong?"

Thanks in advance

Matt

Boolit Master

Not a thing; the flash point of wax is something like 300* (I think). Lead in it's liquid state is 650*-700*, depending on the alloy. While the wax is smoking/burning, stir the melt with a stick; this will bring up the gunk in the metal, and you can skim that off. Go to a second hand store and buy an old wooden-handled slotted spoon to use as a skimmer.
    Welcome to the addiction! By the way, read all the stickies; good info there.
    Lead Forever!

The 2nd amendment was never intended to allow private citizens to 'keep and bear arms.' If it had, there would have been wording such as 'the right of the People to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed. -Ken Konecki, July 27, 1992

John Galt was here.

"Politics is the art of postponing an answer until it is no longer relevant". (From the movie 'Red Tails')

Boolit Grand Master
    yes that is what is supposed to happen
    spin it in like said and skim
    the wax tends to stick to your spoon so don't be alarmed its supposed to do that
    have fun
    Hit em'hard
    hit em'often

Boolit Master
    Welcome, Matt.
    When stiring, be sure to scrape the sides and bottom of the pot to free any crud that may be stuck there. Use a wood stick to stir, scrape and flux.

Boolit Master