Lee PrecisionTitan ReloadingInline FabricationReloading Everything
RotoMetals2MidSouth Shooters SupplyLoad DataRepackbox
Wideners

Thread: Lyman #2 versus Rotometal's Hardball Casting Alloy

Lyman #2 versus Rotometal's Hardball Casting Alloy

I'm interested in people's thoughts on suitability of Rotometals "Hardball Casting Alloy" compared to Lyman #2. According to Rotometal website...
    Hardball Casting Allow = 2% tin, 6% antimony, 92% lead. Brinell hardness about 16
    Lyman #2 = 5% tin, 5% antimony, 90% lead. Brinell hardness about 15.

The Hardball Alloy is $0.32 a pound cheaper. I have been using ww for 30+ years in pistol and revolver loads with complete satisfaction. The ww are now harder to find in WA. state, since they have apparently been legislated out of existence for new installation. So all I need is something equivalent to ww. From what I read, 2% tin is enough for good castabilty (filling of fine detail in mold). Do others agree with this statement? Is it worth paying extra for the Lyman #2 alloy?

Thank you for your thoughts.

Keyhole

Boolit Grand Master

Welcome to Castboolits Keyhole,

I don't think you'll find any noteworthy difference between the two for revolver and pistol loads, so if it were me I would go for the less expensive. 2% tin is all that's needed for castability. The Lyman #2 is more expensive because of the tin percentage and in reality the ballistic difference of 1 BHN is insignificant. You didn't mention if you were quenching your WW but if not the Hardball will be somewhat harder than what you have been using. If you do quench the WW your WW and the Hardball will be very similar. This could make a difference depending on your calibers, loads, pressures etc.

Try buying a small quantity of the Hardball, cast up some of your favorite bullets and see if there is any difference between your old WW loads and the Hardball. I'd be willing to bet you'll be a happy camper.

Let us know how it works out, curious minds want to know.