Lee PrecisionRepackboxSnyders JerkyWideners
Titan ReloadingMidSouth Shooters SupplyRotoMetals2Load Data
Reloading Everything Inline Fabrication
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Using alloys is confusing me

Boolit Buddy

Using alloys is confusing me

I'm very new to casting, and am looking for some direct clear answers. Not to sound angry, but I'm frustrated with not being able to understand how the hardening process works.

I've been to lasc.us site, and it is an interesting read, but I'm still left with the same questions. How do I harden or soften my lead?

I'm afraid the search feature has also left me with the same questions. Everyone's answers are above my understanding level at this point.
    My situation:

I have about 100lbs. of range lead ordered from ebay. I've cast 10 lbs. into .40 cal. slugs with a Lee 6 cavity mold. I think I've got the basics of pouring, fluxing, and melting lead squared away. I haven't tested the lead for hardness yet because it seemed that some lead mixtures needed some time to fully harden.

I am going to test the hardness with my Lee tester. After I ballpark the hardness what do I do if I want to harden the alloy? I'm looking for wheel weights now. Do I mix ww with soft lead 1:1 or do I find the raw alloy elements to add to batches?

I have the Lee book, and the Lyman 47th edition. I'm not finding answers to my questions. Is this just something that I have to learn on my own?

thanks

I'm just getting back into casting, so you will likely get better advice than mine. I mix range lead with wheel weights or linotype metal when I have it, about 20% to 70% range lead. I use my boolits for IDPA and practice/plinking and at modest pistol velocity the hardness of the lead makes little if any difference. I think at the velocities I shoot at pure lead with enough tin for good fillout would work fine. I don't mind a small amount of leading anyway, as long as it does not affect accuracy at the distances I shoot, 3-30yds.