Titan ReloadingRepackboxLoad DataWideners
Snyders JerkyInline FabricationReloading EverythingRotoMetals2
Lee Precision MidSouth Shooters Supply

Thread: casting woes

Boolit Bub

casting woes

This is my first try at casting bullets. It went terrible. Am using new wheel weights, fluxed w/beeswax, using coleman stove at full throttle. All bullets were wrinkled, then all of a sudden a lumpy, dull residue was sitting on the top of my melt, then the metal would not flow into the mold. Help what am i doing wrong. Help please. wayne h

Boolit Master

OK slow down and we will get you fixed up,
    what size pot were you melting the lead in ?( how many pounds on the Coleman stove ?)
    What did it look like after you fluxed it ? was it nice and liquid and shiny ?
    Do you have any idea of what the temp was in the pot ? and did you pre heat the mold?
    Did you clean the mold real well before casting? what kind of mold ? and what caliber ?
    After the dull reside was on top of the melt did you re flux? if you did --did it go away ?
    If the metal was shiny and liquid after fluxing, your temp sounds like it dropped on you or you needed to re flux. Also sounds like metal or mold was not hot enough or both were cold
    ( not up to temp) mold was not clean enough.

Answer some of the questions for us and more help will be on the way.
    Hate is like drinking poison and hoping the other man dies.

*Cohesiveness* *Leadership* *a common cause***

***In a gunfight your expected to be an active participant in your own rescue***

The effective range of an excuse is ZERO Meters

Your aren't using enough heat. Turn the pot thermostat higher. Get the blocks hotter. Don't back off on the temp until the bullets start coming out with a frosted appearance.

-ktw
    Last edited by ktw; 04-29-2010 at 09:25 PM.

Boolit Bub

casting woes

1. the pot is a 1 qt stainless steel.

2. amount about 3 lbs

3. meyal was shiny after fluxing w/beeswax

4. the mold is a 2 cavity lee mold