MidSouth Shooters SupplyReloading EverythingLee PrecisionTitan Reloading
Inline FabricationRotoMetals2RepackboxLoad Data
Wideners
Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast

Thread: .310 Cadet Reloading 101, part 1

Moderator Emeritus

.310 Cadet Reloading 101, part 1

G'day to the members and visitors to the board,

Another member 'Paratus', put the "Cat in amongst the pigeons" when he revealed to those who read his thread that he has and shoots a Martini .310 Cadet Rifle. I as result of enquiries for the information I offered to members, I believe it will be easier to submit information in the form of a thread and conduct some tests with the cartridge and rifle combination while posting the results for all to see. I can chrono loads, benchrest out to 90 meteres at the club for accuracy comparison, try different lubes from within an initially small choice of brands, mainly LEE Liquid Alox and 50/50 Alox Beeswax (others if time permits).

I have some experience and information for reloading this cartridge and a rifle which needs to be exercised. The cartridge itself is barely big enough to be considered a Rifle cartridge but makes a good childs training rifle, adults plinking rifle or suitable for small game at less than 100 yds. I do not hold out at this time much hope of good accuracy with my rifles barrel. While the rifling is sharp looking, the bore at one time was not cleaned properly (before my time with the rifle) and is dark. On the previous ocassions I shot this rifle, I did manage to hit the target with reasonable accuracy. I do have two original second hand, good clean cast boolit barrels on their way and they should be available before the end of the test cycle.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	310 Action.jpg 
Views:	142 
Size:	60.8 KB 
ID:	1767

The cartridge itself is a straight tapered case approximately 1.075" long which work best IMO with a Heel Type Boolit weighing approximately 120 grains.

Name:	310 Cases and Projectiles.jpg 
Views:	191 
Size:	61.5 KB