WidenersLoad DataTitan ReloadingMidSouth Shooters Supply
Lee PrecisionSnyders JerkyRepackboxRotoMetals2
Inline Fabrication Reloading Everything
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How good can you see?

Boolit Bub

How good can you see?

Hi.. New here and was reading one of the threads about accuracy.

I have been shooting for 50 years. I wear glasses now and really miss my old 20/15 vision. They tell me it is still 20/15 corrected but it sure don't seem like it.

I have been doing a lot of shooting at 50 yards which I think is a great intermediate range. Mostly I have been checking some M1 garand loads and working on a good load for my 44 Henry bb that will also work good in my 44 revolvers.

Soooo.. to get to the point. No matter what rifle I shoot.. I get best groups with the best guns and loads of maybe 1 1/2".. Mostly two inch for good guns and loads.

That is the best I can see. I admit it. For revolvers.. with their normal sights and such.. I get 4" groups if I am doing my part from my 4" 44 guns (lots of 4's)

All my shooting is open sights. I don't own a gun with a scope.

I have been reading here how guys get sub one inch groups at 50 yards with their handguns. With open sights? for 12 rounds? I used to be a better shot when I was younger.. shot a thousand rounds a month but no way could I shoot sub one inch groups at 50 yards for 12 round groups.

When I look at the front sight and make it clear, the 3" bull I use is fuzzy enough to be maybe.. what? 50% bigger counting the fuzz than it really is? pretty hard to make everything line up and find the center (or within an inch of it) much less take into consideration the mechanical problems of load and gun.

I have a K22 masterpiece that is pretty accurate. Smith used to claim that the gun was capable of shooting 1" groups at 50 yards. At ten yards.. I can shoot less than half inch groups with it. At 50 yards.. it will shoot, for me.. the same 4" groups that I get with other handguns.