Inline FabricationRotoMetals2MidSouth Shooters SupplySnyders Jerky
Load DataRepackboxTitan ReloadingReloading Everything
Wideners Lee Precision

Thread: 454 in 460 Brass

Boolit Master

454 in 460 Brass

I bought a bag of 460 S&W and trimmed some down to 1.380" for my 454. Question is what primer to use, Large Rifle or Large Pistol? Plan is to use full power loads.
    Doug
    .................................................. ........................................
    Sticks and stones may break my bones but hollow points expand on impact.

Taxidermists are cheaper than surgeons....keep shooting

ΜOΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

Some people measure success in Minutes of Angle

Boolit Mold
    First post, but I have been loading for 50 years.

What do you hope to accomplish? When the .454 was relatively new I thought I might be able to get a little more out of a .45 Colt Blackhawk by trimming .454s to Colt length. Found that the same load was actually slower in the .454 case, had to load heavier for the same velocity! Possibly the SRM compared to the LPM primer, both Federal.

That said, use whatever the primer pockets are for. Just to satisfy your curiosity try the same load with LR and LP primers and chronograph them. You will find a lot less difference than you would expect. Maybe a little higher SD with the rifle primer.

Boolit Master
    Hope to accomplish not using Small rifle primers. I hate it, 454 is a big case should have a big primer.
    Doug
    .................................................. ........................................

ΜOΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

Banned

The 460 like the 454 was designed for Rifle primers.
    1: They are ~.006" taller, so the pocket is that much deeper.
    2: The rifle primer is far better suited to the high pressure of both those cartridges.
    There is a very good chance of rupturing the pistol primers. That is very hard on firing pins.