RotoMetals2Load DataWidenersLee Precision
RepackboxMidSouth Shooters SupplyReloading EverythingTitan Reloading
Snyders Jerky Inline Fabrication

Thread: Pan lube didn't take, suggestions? (might try tumble lube too)

Pan lube didn't take, suggestions? (might try tumble lube too)

Hi,
    This is my first time doing everything from casting to lubing. I do have experience reloading so at least that's not part of this huge learning curve. I'm using a process from youtube which removes the block of lube w/bullets intact and push them out from behind.

Using the Darr lube I successfully pan lubed some 358-148-wc yesterday. Kinda sticky but they are sized and ready to load today.

Last night I left some 452-200-swc (both Lee moulds) in the lube. This morning they just pop out with no lube in the groove.

The big difference looks like the 148 has sharp edges on the lube grooves while the 200 is curved and smooth, so they just slide out of the lube.

I do have some Alox and have the the tumble stickly (looks very good) and that's my plan B. First though I'd like to see if I can tweak my process to get pan lubing to work.

Anyone have experience with this bullet and pan lubing them?

Thanks
    Last edited by 357shooter; 01-10-2010 at 08:49 AM.

Last night I left some 452-200-swc (both Lee moulds) in the lube. This morning they just pop out with no lube in the groove.
    Sounds like you left them in the "cake" to long and the lube fully cured. try again, but don't let the lube cure. push them out while the lube is a little soft.
    Appalachian American

When told the reason for daylight savings time the Old Indian said, “Only the Government would believe that you could cut a foot off the top of a blanket, sew it to the bottom, and have a longer blanket.”

Boolit Master

pan lube